My Sweet Short Career as a Movie Extra

Canoe trip notes – Oct. 16 – 19, Mohawk Dam to Dresden

fallingleavesbet

Leaves fall into the Walhonding River near Warsaw, upstream of White Woman’s Rock.

As I landed my canoe at White Woman’s Rock to stretch my legs, I heard a man screaming in agony. I grabbed my camera and cautiously approached the source.

Then I saw the movie lights.

In 36 years of canoeing, I’d never come upon a movie set. Until then.

The closest I’d come to it was when I paddled upon a photographer shooting high school senior photos on Clear Fork of the Mohican River.

Anyway, a young woman came out to greet me as I approached the movie set. I asked permission to take a few photos, but she denied my request.

I offered my services as an extra, but she told me I was far too handsome and would give their actors an inferiority complex. Maybe she was just letting me off easy.

She told me I could learn more about the movie project on their Facebook page “The Reliant.”

There the film is described as a Christian action drama.

Here’s a plot synopsis from the Facebook blurb:

When the dollar collapses, widespread rioting and looting ensues, and five children tragically lose their parents in the chaos. Armed with a couple of their father’s weapons, they are able to survive in a stretch of woods on the outskirts of their burning town. Facing starvation and threats from encroaching gangs, they begin to doubt God’s love. Will God answer their prayers, or must their faith remain blind to facts?

They could have seized on the opportunity of my impromptu visit and amended that to read “facing starvation, threats from encroaching gangs and a nosy canoe bum.”

The burning town is played by Coshocton, by the way.

Sorry to say I didn’t get any photos because of the prohibition against taking pictures of their set. Guess they didn’t want to reveal too much. However, there are plenty posted on the Facebook page.

Next: I paddle off into the sunset, humbled by rejection … yet buoyed by the promise of adventure.

4 thoughts on “My Sweet Short Career as a Movie Extra

  1. I read every one of your articles with great enjoyment, Irv, having followed your career from the time you were a reporter in Columbus, then Ashland, and now in your delicious retirement. Thanks for sharing your explorations and adventures.
    Marji Hazen

    Like

  2. Now that’s not something you encounter every day…..how interesting!!! I can only imagine what your initial thoughts were upon hearing that screaming….hard to know what you might find on the other end! As always, an enjoyable read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

