Make Be-lieve

Grand parenting

The calm before the storm

The calm before the storm

A few posts ago, I mentioned something about resisting the urge to do … about just being.

Spending time with my granddaughter this week reminds me that children are accomplished at being in the moment. She seems to spend her days just the way they should be spent — bounding freely through an ever-changing world of imagination and new experiences.

Back when I was working, I’d occasionally stop at the Bellstores on U.S. 250 to run the car through the automatic wash bay. I would throw open the shade on the moonroof and delight in watching the torrents of water blasting the glass. Sometimes I’d actually laugh out loud, hoping no one would drive up and see me.

Carpe diem!

Carpe diem!

Last night, on the way home, I stopped at the Bellstores to gas up. It occurred to me that my granddaughter would also enjoy the experience. Even though the car didn’t need washing, I splurged and spent $9 for a wash for her benefit. She loved it.

Almost as much as I did.

One thought on “Make Be-lieve

  1. Pingback: Addicted & Conflicted | IRV OSLIN

Leave a Reply

