Blizzard of ’78 Remembered

Ashland Co. EMA Guy’s Adventures in Paradise

Here’s an article I wrote last year for the Times-Gazette on “the big one.” No, I’m not talking about Rafeld; I’m talking about the Blizzard of ’78. For the record, I was driving trucks at the time for the U.S. Postal Service and had a route that took me from Cleveland to Painesville, Perry and Madison — right in the heart of the NE Ohio snow belt. When I arrived at the Madison Post Office, the postmaster was the only one there. He questioned my sanity, told me to stay until the roads where cleared and left me there to fend for myself. I slept under a table in the break room for about eight hours then drove my truck back to Cleveland.

Rafeld recalls being stranded during Blizzard of 1978 – Times-Gazette _ Ashland & Ashland County, Ohio

One thought on “Blizzard of ’78 Remembered

Leave a Reply

