Drive-by shootings and poaching in Florida

FLORIDA TRIP JOURNAL

A Florida sandhill crane, according to my Facebook friends

A Florida sandhill crane, according to my Facebook friends

I felt obligated to check out the flora and fauna of Florida while I was down here. But my exploration was limited to walks around trailer parks and drive-by shootings of wildlife from Mom’s Crown Vic.

Got some good shots of Florida sandhill cranes and an underexposed photo of the passenger-side door panel and Dad’s right knee.

The wildlife here is easy to photograph. Critters in Florida don’t spook easily — probably because the older folks down here don’t chase or annoy them like young people do elsewhere.

Pygmy gator - till someone tells me otherwise

Pygmy gator – till someone tells me otherwise

I got my best shots by poaching my nephew Raymond’s wildlife photos from Dad’s computer.

I haven’t spent much time in Florida, much less read about it. So, I have no idea what half of the stuff was that I photographed.

I figured the best way to research it is to post a photo on Facebook and ask my Facebook friends what the hell it is. So far, I’ve been able to identify two species of bird, a reptile and a long-lost classmate.

Franklin's gull? Laughing gull? Pigeon in drag? Your call.

Franklin’s gull? Laughing gull? Pigeon in drag? Your call.

Leave a Reply

